Baking Bread

So, this is actually my second attempt but I didn’t document the first go, so here’s this try.

I used the basic white bread recipe out of the Better Homes & Gardens cookbook.

So, first is the Flour and Yeast.

Then the Milk, Sugar, and Salt

So, I’m not going to go through all the steps, but the basics are, I mixed up the dough, kneaded until my arms hurt, and set it in the oven with a buddy of a bowl of warm water to rise. While it was doing it’s thing I got some cleaning done.

After rising.

Then, the dough baby gets divided into two pieces and put into loaf pans.

They get to rise some more and into the oven they go.

Once all that’s done, I have two loaves of bread – all baked and pretty.

It took about four hours from start to finish, but the bread is so worth it. So much better than the stuff you buy in the store. I’m going to start trying some different breads and my ultimate goal is to eventually be able to do a decent Cuban bread – which I’ve read is one of the trickiest to get right.

 

Oh, and last night I also made Kung Pao Shrimp from a recipe found here. This woman’s blog is really, really good and has a lot of good recipes. There’s one on here for homemade Pop Tarts that I’m trying probably today.

 

Oh, if anyone wants me to copy out the recipe I used for the bread, let me know and I’ll copy it from my cookbook.

 

Enjoy!

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. My husband is really into baking bread right now, but I don’t have the patience for it. Kudos to you for making two beautiful loaves!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

