For A Great Author – Sara Douglass

So, I was going to post the last part of my DragonCon adventure today, but I feel this is more important. I learned yesterday that one of my favorite authors passed away from ovarian cancer after years of struggle with the disease.

RIP Sara Douglass

This Australian author is credited with paving the way for female fantasy writers (particularly female Australian writers) and was the first woman signed to the Voyager imprint of Harper Collins. I have been a fan of hers since I picked up The Wayfarer Redemption (BattleAxe in Australia) and fell in love with the complex characters and even more complex story.

Sara Douglass spoke openly and painfully on her blog about her disease and her struggles. If you knew her struggles in real life, it was easy to read between the lines and see the passages that no doubt mirrored her personal pain, particularly in her most recent book, The Devil’s Diadem – which has easily surpassed all her other novels as my personal favorite.

To Sara – May the Falloway Man lead you into the eternal Field of Flowers.

Here is perhaps her most poignant entry on Sara’s blog titled The Silence of the Dying. After reading it, you will forever think twice about how you treat someone who is ill. I also recommend reading the rest of her blog also. It is a fascinating journey into self-sufficiency and it was Sara’s greatest dream.

There is no good way to end something like this, so I will say again RIP Sara and know how you touched all of us and to anyone who has never read her work – I highly recommend it. You won’t be disappointed.

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. WOW!! That really made me think!!! It can be so easy for those of us who are trying to “help” to get too caught up in our own lives to see what those who are hurting in such a profound way REALLY need from us!! A lot to think about!! Thanks for sharing – Jeanette

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kay Tipton "Katie" on October 4, 2011 at 8:49 AM

    Sorry to hear about her loss. I have a friend who just had surgery ; hers was in the first stage . So hopefully will remain cancer free . I support a lot of the cancer awareness programs . People don’t realize that just a small contribution to help others so much .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

