My “To Be Read” List

On the posts about what I did at DragonCon, I mentioned the panels that added to my To Be Read (TBR) list, so I thought I would share those books with you. Maybe one of them will strike your fancy too.

Stand on Zanzibar by John Brunner – This is actually a re release of a 1968 book. I’ve never heard of it, but it’s a speculative fiction of an overpopulated world with mega computers, psychedelic drugs, and genetic engineering.

Blood Song by Cat Adams – Urban fantasy with a half human, half vampire bodyguard heroine. What’s not to be interested in?

Highest Frontier by Joan Slonczewskihard sci fi. Main character is a girl from a rich, influential family that is going to college in orbit.

Blood and Other Cravings – an anthology about vampires that suck more than blood.

Darkest Part of the Woods  by Ramsey Campbell – a supernatural horror

Farlander by Col Buchanen – This was actually just released in paperback, but I’d never heard of it, so it’s new to me. This is a dystopian fantasy with some steampunk elements.

Faerie Ring  by Kiki Hamilton – A YA about an orphan in Victorian England who runs into some problems when she finds a ring that belongs to Queen Victoria. She also gets into trouble with the Faerie realm too.

Thirteen Hallows by Michael Scott – described as a fantastical thriller. The Hallows are powerful magical objects that can do great harm or great good and someone is collecting them.

The Wild Side – another anthology that one of the editors described as “paranormal smut” I think I could get into that. *wink wink*

Kalanya Price – She was a guest on several of the panels I went to and after hearing her speak, I knew I had to give her books a try. I am currently reading Grave Dance, which is number two in the Alex Craft books. I am enjoying it so far.

Jana Oliver – Another panelist I enjoyed hearing. She writes YA.

Cinda Williams Chima – Also a YA author. Her books are epic fantasy, which is rare in teen fiction. Since I love epic fantasy I have to read these at some point.

Raising Stony Mayhall by Daryl Gregory – Another that I believe was a just released to paperback, but I hadn’t heard of. A family finds a baby with his dead mother and it turns out the baby is a zombie. Instead of turning him over to the authorities, they raise him as their own.

Difference Engine by William Gibson – This is a re release and credited as one of the first steampunk books. Somehow, I’ve never read it but I think it’s time to change that.

Dearly Departed  by Lia Habel – Another YA. A proper young lady in Victorian England falls in love with a zombie. How cool is that!?

Traitor’s Daughter  by Paula Brandon – This sounded like a typical epic fantasy and I can’t resist those.

Coveted by Shawntelle Madison – Story about a werewolf who is the outcast of her pack and also has a slight hoarding problem. What really intrigued me about this book is the enchanted therapy group she goes to for her hoarding problem. The author was in attendance and she let slip that there is a mermaid who is afraid of the water! If that doesn’t make you want to know more, then I don’t know what will.

 

So that is the list. I hope I haven’t forgotten something. There was quite a lot. My plan is to do a kind of review as I finish the list, along with some other books that are being released by authors that I already read. I hope you find something you might enjoy.

Leave a Reply

